Welcome to the Errata Room!
Here you find all of the latest rule changes,
FAQs, and news needed to know to let your game be nuclear.
Return often...cause we make a lot of mistakes...mumble,mumble
Now leave me alone, ya hump!
and Game Text Change
Turn Phases -
For Rules clarity(?), Player Turns are now broken
down into phases and must be done in order:
Initial Phase -
Player must declare whether they will use Movement Fate cards or not.
Movement Phase -
Player rolls for Movement, resulting in Moving
(modified by any Movement Fate cards)
Effect Phase -
After all Movement is resolved, the square tile's
game text immediately activates. The square tile is considered Immediate
in terms of Effects (see Immediate Effects). After all cards played, the
square tile's effects are resolved.
End Phase -
A catchall area that is anytime between the Effect
Phase and the beginning of the next player's Initial Phase.
Fate Cards -
All Fate cards are now categorized into the following
due to their effect. See below for rules:
Movement Fate cards are Immediate.
Weapon Fate cards are Immediate.
Treasure Fate cards are Immediate.
Life Fate cards are Instant.
Death Fate cards are Instant.
Immediate Rules -
Can be used at any time and are considered staged.
Staging means that the last card to be played has seniority over all of
the other cards played and is used first in terms of its effects. Cards
played prior to the last are dealt with in terms of the last card played
to the first.
EX- Ben has 3 life and Gary has 2 life. Big Ben
plays a Weapon card (-2 life to all opponents). To counter that Gary immediately
plays a Weapon card (-3 life to target player) right after Ben put down
his. Ben smile fades as the effects of the cards hit home. The last card
to be played was Gary's and as of such has seniority over all other cards
played (meaning Ben's). Gary targets Ben for the damaging effects and hits
Ben for 3 life. Ben is reduced to 0 life and will be dead after all of the
cards effects are played. After Gary's Weapon card, Ben's Weapon card has
seniority (because it was the closest to the last played). It damages all
opponents for 2 life, reducing Gary to 0 also. When the cards effects are
done and all cards are played, both Gary and Ben are reduced to 0 life.
So what happens? As Gary was reduced to 0 Life last, he would considered
the winner of the game for lasting the longest.
Note about Immediates:
Movement Fate cards are also staged but can only be played prior to a player's
Movement Phase. Movement Fate cards can be used on anyone.
Note about Immediates:
Square Tiles are considered Immediates in terms of dealing their effects.
They will always go last in staging (meaning that their effects are done
after any card played during this phase).
EX- Damion is in his Effects Phase and has landed
on a square tile that will reduce him to 0 life. He decides to play his
Fate cards in the hopes of gaining some life or some retribution before
the square's effect kills him. His Fate cards being played, as well as any
other, will be resolved before the square's effect kills him. After all
played cards are resolved, the square tile takes effect.
Instant Rules -
Drawing an Instant activates the cards effect instantly.
This means it happens before it is even placed in the drawing player's hand.
Instants are not staged and are resolved independently.
EX- Bob must draw 2 Fate cards. His first is a
Life card (+4 life) and his second was a Death card (-10 life). As both
cards are Instants, they are dealt with as soon as they are drawn. First
Bob gains the 4 life and that card is resolved. Next he loses 10 life due
to the Death card. Each time the card's effects are independent of each
other. This means that a player can die from a card before he even gets
a chance to draw his next one.
Note about Instants: All
Instants after being resolved are placed into a Discard pile. After the
Fate card deck is exhausted, the Discard deck is reshuffled and used as
the Fate card deck.
Dragon War FAQ version 1.1
you land on a BATTLE square, who do you battle?
Player of your choice.
if you land on a BATTLE square when another player is already on it? Do
that player twice?
No. You still battle the player of your choice
and would only battle that player twice if she choose to battle you on her
turn, then you chose to battle her on your turn.
a NULLIFY SQUARE FATE CARD affect someone else landing on a square?
Technically, yes you can nullify any square. Fate
cards can be used at any time and are instantaneous in their use.
a NULLIFY SQUARE FATE CARD nullify someone landing on the same square as
you from battling you?
No, the rules of combat are based upon an encounter
(someone being in the same area as you), rather than the board square enacting
5. 3X MOVEMENT
ROLL FATE CARD: Can it be used after rolling for movement?
No, movement Fate cards are exempt from the common
rule that Fate cards can be used at any time. Movement Fate cards must be
used prior to a player's Movement Phase (see more about Game Phases below).
However, this may be any player's Movement Phase.
a player reaches 0 life points, and is out of the game, can a player resume
House Rules dictate variants of the game play called
Types, and you may wish to use them to allow a player to come back into
the game. We usually use Types I and III when playing, but feel free to
mix and match to your own personal game.
AND PLAYER OF CHOICE LOSE OR GAIN EQUAL LIFE FATE CARD: Can you lose more
life than you have? Can someone gain more than 25 life?
There are technically no Life Limits in the Dragon
War Basic Game, so a player being reduced to -4 life is still below 0 and
is technically dead. A player may have a life total exceeding 25.
BREATHES FIRE FATE CARD: Does All Players include player who played it?
"All Players" means all players on the
Dragon War Basic Game Board. Note that a player on a Sideboard (due to expansions)
are exempt from this card's damaging effects.
THIS CARD ON ANY SPACE...3 OR 6 TO PASS IT FATE CARD: Would all players
have to stop on that space even when a roll would carry them past?
No. Only the player that put that particular "Wall"
Fate Card. All other players are free to pass.
you cannot pass this square on a roll, are you affected by the square each
Unfortunately, Yes, you do suffer the effects of
the square tile, however frequently you land on it.
you pass this square if you receive a modified roll of 3 or 6 from a Fate
Card or ability?
Yes. Modified rolls are allowed to bypass all "Wall"
PLAYER LOSES LIFE EQUAL TO FATE CARDS FATE CARD: Does this include the Death
No. Due to the timing of Fate Cards and their instantaneous
effects, the Death Card is never included into the player's hand. The drawing
of the card activates the effect of the card.
players play Fate Cards before this Death Card resolves?
No. Fate Cards being drawn have seniority in the
effects of be immediate. Fate Cards in hand are dealt in succession of being
played (see Fate Card Rules).
a SAFE HAVEN, what can a player be affected by? What can't a player be affected
The heart of most controversy, the Safe Haven provides
defense against all combat rolls and all damage rolls. Any card or card
effect not using rolls and can target player(s) can effect a player in a
LIFE EQUAL TO NUMBER OF SPACES JUST MOVED FATE CARD: Does a player gain
life equal to all spaces moved, even when modified? What if a player moves
The player gains life equal to all spaces moved,
even when modified and even when in reverse movements.
if this card is drawn after someone trades places with another player?
That player gains as much life as the last movement
made prior to the card draw. If the player drawing the card trades places
with another and moves 12 squares, then that person would gain 12 life.
OF CHOICE CAN ONLY MOVE ONE SPACE...5 IS ROLLED FATE CARD: What if another
player rolls a 5? What if a 5 is rolled by this player other than movement?
The effect of the card is held until a 5, any 5,
is rolled. That 5 can be from any player and at anytime a die is rolled.
GAME FATE CARD: What if someone is moving backwards?
Double negation. Anyone that was moving backwards
is now moving forwards, as per normal movement.
SPREAD FEAR FATE CARD: Can I play this on myself? If played while player
is moving in reverse, does player go back two spaces?
Yes, for some demented reasons you can play it
upon yourself. If played while a player is moving in reverse the player
still goes back two spaces upon the game board.
square where player must battle a square, can fate cards which modify battle
Yes. Anything that modifies combat rolls can be
used at anytime.
treasure and weapon fate cards be used at any time?
Technically, Fate cards (excluding Life/Death and
Movement) are dealt with in order that they are used or played down. The
most recent one has seniority over the others but since Treasure and Weapon
Fate cards are immediate and are culmulitive they can be used at any time.
optional rules designated in the rules be used even if they are not stated
before game play begins?
Actually, this all depends upon the players. If
you have established an understood fixed House Rule and are playing with
players that know this rule then it should go fine. However, everyone might
not know that the rule is "understood", so in terms of having
to deal with heated arguments and bitter friends, i would state all rules
being used prior to game play. It is a simple matter of courtesy.
you trade places with player of choice if player is on a Safe Haven? If
player is only player which can be affected?
As stated in the Safe Haven section of rules, any
card not using a die roll can effect a player within a Safe Haven. The Safe
Haven only really protects the player from the prospect of damage. So as
long as the trading places does not include any kind of die roll, the player
in the Safe Haven is susceptible.
"X" LIFE POINTS FROM PLAYER SQUARE: Do you gain "X"?
No. The taking of the life points is considered
OPS (Other Player Sacrifice) and is removed from game. You only gain the
life points if the card states "Gain".
A CARD, PLAY IT ON PLAYER OF CHOICE OR KEEP IT SQUARE: Can you look at the
No. You first draw the card (facedown) and choose
to play or keep it. Only after this decision is made can the card be turned
SQUARES: What if you don't dare?
Choosing not to dare, causes the player to suffer
the effect of the game square immediately. Note that not all Dare squares
have damaging effects upon them, so the player would get off scot-free.
TREASURE CARD OR LOSE 1 LIFE SQUARE: What if I don't have any Treasure Cards?
Then you automatically lose 1 life. If for some
reason you can not meet the requirements of the card, for whatever reason,
you suffer the effect of the card. It's a harsh world.
SQUARE: What happens if I nullify the square?
Simple. The square is nullified. Think of the nullify
square as an eraser and it just erased the game text off. Any player can
still occupy that space, it just doesn't have an effect.
I modify my rolls by fate cards for squares which ask for rolls? For when
I reach the finish card?
Fate cards that modify rolls can be used in any
way as long as they are played in their phases. Movement Fate cards must
be used prior to a Movement Phase. Effect Fate cards can be used at anytime,
and Life/Death Fate cards are instants. If you follow these rules, then
any of the above is possible.
Make sure you brush up on your Rules knowledge
when the War Tour '01 comes around. Most tour shows and Sanctioned Games
will host Type I games but you never know which one will have the biggest
prize waiting to be won. Check out the House Rules section for the latest
post of the rules!